Healthy Eating

A healthy diet contains food from the five major food groups, to give us the energy and nutrients we need. The five food groups include:-

  • fruit and vegetables ( Remember 5 a day!!!)
  • bread, rice, potatoes and pasta
  • milk and dairy foods
  • meat, fish, eggs and beans
  • foods and drinks high in fat and sugar

Healthy eating is really straightforward, despite what you might see in some books or on TV programmes. It is about getting the balance right, which means eating a wide variety of foods but in the right proportion. The problem lies in getting that balance right.

To get more information on what healthy eating means for you and how to get the balance right, you can visit the following websites:

Last modified: Wednesday, 28 May 2014, 5:19 PM